At least 200 faculty members have opted for the enhanced payout


HARRISBURG, Pa. – Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education announced Monday at least 200 members of the faculty indicated they're opting for a one-time retirement incentive program, meaning those members will receive the full benefit.

The incentive – created in January by an agreement between the state System and the Association of Pennsylvania State College & University Faculties – involved an enhanced sick leave payout.

Regular full-time members of the faculty who qualified for majority paid retiree health care had until the close of business Monday to announce their intention, and at least 200 faculty members had to sign up for the program to be implemented.

“We wanted to create a program that respected their service, and we're grateful APSCUF partnered with us on this," State System Chancellor Daniel Greenstein said. “This collaboration created both a meaningful retirement incentive and a practical solution to some of the challenges the State System faces when it comes to keeping college affordable for students."

The State System is confirming final numbers and eligibility. It will report those to APSCUF by March 16.

Faculty members who opted into the program will receive an additional payout of sick leave if they retire on or before Aug. 14, 2020.

The max payout for someone with at least 25 years of service who had saved up to 300 days of paid sick leave would be 125 days. A faculty member may not get paid for more sick days than they have accumulated.

“We acknowledge how personal and difficult the decision to retire can be for someone who has made a career out of connecting with students in a classroom," Greenstein said. “I want to personally thank each faculty member for their service to our students, their university, and our System."

Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education oversees 14 four-year public universities educating more than 95,000 students. The State System offers more than 2,300 degrees and certificates in more than 530 academic areas. The State System universities are Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock and West Chester Universities of Pennsylvania.​​

Article Date
Article ByLine
Publish Start Date
Publish End Date
Sort Order
Content Type: News Releases