​​​Also approves reappointment of two members, including Chair Shapira


HARRISBURG, Pa. – Pennsylvania Senators today approved the nominations of five members of the State System of Higher Education's Board of Governors, including the reappointment of Chair Cindy Shapira and fellow board member Janet Yeomans.

Joining the Board are two alumni of State System universities, the previous chair of Shippensburg University's Council of Trustees, and leaders in the business and philanthropy industries. Each member received a nomination for a four-year term.

  • Cindy Shapira of Pittsburgh, who has chaired the Board of Governors since 2016, is president of the Davis S. and Karen A. Shapira Foundation. Her distinguished philanthropy, community relations, and business career has been well recognized in her home of Pittsburgh and throughout the Commonwealth.
  • Janet Yeomans of Philadelphia served as vice president and treasurer with 3M Corp. She currently serves as an independent trustee of Delaware Group Income Funds and on the board of Temple University Hospital.
  • William Gindlesperger of Chambersburg is chairman of eLynxx Solution, which provides clients software for sourcing and managing direct mail. He also serves as a trustee for Shippensburg.
  • B. Michael Shaul of Mechanicsburg is president and managing partner for Economic Strategy Group LTD in Harrisburg. Previously, he served as the state deputy secretary of commerce and as past chair of the Council of Trustees at Shippensburg, his alma mater.
  • Larry Skinner of Philadelphia works as vice president of sales and marketing for Conversion Technologies International Inc., and he's a graduate of Cheyney University. He currently serves on Cheyney's Council of Trustees and chairs the student affairs committee.

The Board of Governors is responsible for planning and coordinating the operation of the State System. The Board establishes broad educational, fiscal, and personnel policies, and oversees the efficient management of the State System.

As many as 11 members of the Board are appointed by the Governor of Pennsylvania with the consent of the state Senate. Six of those 11 are to be residents of the Commonwealth and five shall be selected from the trustees of member universities. No more than one trustee per university may serve on the Board.

The rest of the Board includes the Governor or a designee; the Secretary of Education or a designee; two state Senators and two state Representatives appointed by caucus leaders; and three students selected with consent from university presidents and approved by the other Board members.​

Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education oversees 14 four-year public universities educating more than 93,000 students. The State System offers more than 2,300 degrees and certificates in more than 530 academic areas. The State System universities are Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock and West Chester universities of Pennsylvania.​

Article Date
Article ByLine
Publish Start Date
Publish End Date
Sort Order
Content Type: News Releases