Board of Governors Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education

Meeting Minutes

288th Meeting Wednesday, February 3, 2022

9:00 a.m.
Dixon University Center, Harrisburg

ATTENDING

Board of Governors:

Robert W. Bogle

Representative Tim Briggs
William A. Gindlesperger
Secretary Allison Jones
Senator Scott Martin
David M. Maser (Vice Chair)
Marian Moskowitz
Deputy Secretary Tanya I Garcia (Designee)
Representative Brad Roae

Alexander C. Roberts
Senator Judith L. Schwank
Cynthia D. Shapira (Chair)
Larry C. Skinner (Vice Chair)
Samuel H. Smith (Vice Chair)
Skylar Walder
Neil R. Weaver
Janet L. Yeomans

In attendance was (non-voting) Board Faculty Liaison, Dr. Jamie L. Phillips

Chair Shapira called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendance taken at the direction of Chair Shapira established that a quorum of the Board was present.

CHAIR'S REMARKS (Full Remarks in video archive)

Chair Shapira welcomed everyone and extended a special welcome to new Student Board of Governors Member, Skylar Walder of Shippensburg University. Skylar was recently appointed to replace former student member, Stephen Washington, who graduated in December.

PUBLIC COMMENT – None

REMARKS BY UNION LEADERS (Full remarks in video archive)

APSCUF President – Dr. Jamie Martin

REMARKS BY PACT (Full remarks in video archive)

PACT 1st Vice President Milissa Bauer provided remarks on behalf of the PACT.

CONSENT AGENDA

Chair Shapira moved that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented:

- Meeting Minutes October 13, 2021
- Meeting Minutes December 1, 2021
- Standing Committee Assignments
- Revised Meeting Calendar for 2022
- Authorization to issue refunding bonds in FY 2022-23

Voice Vote. No opposition. The motion passed unanimously.

GOVERNANCE AND LEADERSHIP COMMITTEE

(Full remarks in video archive)

Committee Chair Samuel Smith reviewed Committee items as presented in the meeting materials, to consider the appointment of student trustees and a proposed resolution to promulgate a procedure and standard to operationalize the role of councils of trustees at integrating universities. Roll call was conducted, and the following committee members were present: Maser, Martin, Roberts, Schwank, and Shapira (ex-officio).

President Dale Elizabeth Pehrsson offered remarks in support of the appointment of Jahneek Fant to California University's councils of trustees.

President Aaron Walton offered remarks in support of the appointment of Kishore Owusu to Cheyney University's council of trustees.

COMMITTEE CHAIR SMITH MOVED THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS HEREBY APPOINTS JAHNEEK FANT TO THE CALIFORNIA UNIVERSITY COUNCIL OF TRUSTEES AND KISHORE OWUSU TO THE CHEYNEY UNIVERSITY COUNCIL OF TRUSTEES.

Voice Vote of Committee members. No opposition. The motion passed.

Committee Chair Smith and Deputy Chancellor Randy Goin reviewed the draft resolution as presented in the meeting materials Item 8b., which is to promulgate a procedure and standard to operationalize the role of councils of trustees at integrating universities.

PACT Vice President Milissa Bauer and Senator Scott Martin offered additional comments in support of the proposed resolution.

COMMITTEE CHAIR SMITH MOVED THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS ADOPT THE PROPOSED RESOLUTION AS PRESENTED IN THE MEETING MATERIALS:

"THEREFOR BE IT RESOLVED: THE BOARD DESIRES THAT ENTITIES BE CREATED AT CLARION, EDINBORO, LOCK HAVEN, AND MANSFIELD FOR THE SOLE BENEFIT OF THE NEW INTEGRATED INSTITUTION FOR THE PURPOSE OF PROVIDING CONTINUED INPUT AND SUPPORT AND TO FULFILL A QUASI-COUNCIL OF TRUSTEES ROLE AT CLARION, EDINBORO, LOCK HAVEN, AND MANSFIELD. THE CHANCELLOR AND

PRESIDENT SHALL BE REQUIRED TO SEEK INPUT FROM THESE ENTITIES REGARDING MATTERS THAT FALL UNDER THE PURVIEW OF THE STATUTORY ROLES OF THE COUNCILS OF TRUSTEES. FURTHER, THE CHANCELLOR'S OFFICE SHALL PROMULGATE A PROCEDURE & STANDARD TO OPERATIONALIZE THIS RESOLUTION, WHICH SHALL REMAIN IN FULL FORCE AND EFFECT UNTIL SUCH TIME AS THE LEGISLATURE AMENDS 24 P.S.§20-2008-A OR OTHERWISE CHANGES THE COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCILS OF TRUSTEES FOR THE INTEGRATED INSTITUTIONS, AND/OR THIS IS OTHERWISE SUPERSEDED BY BOARD ACTION.

Voice Vote of Committee members. No opposition. The motion passed.

STUDENT SUCCESS COMMITTEE

(Full remarks in video archive)

Committee Chair David Maser introduced a special student success spotlight with a unique collaboration with the Hershey Entertainment Resort and Shippensburg University. The program provides leadership, career development and internship opportunities for Shippensburg University students.

Shippensburg Interim President, Dr. Charles Patterson, and Shippensburg's Chief Strategy Officer and Senior Vice President for Student Success, Dr. Sue Mukherjee, each provided a brief overview of the internship program and introduction of Hershey leadership who offered remarks about the program. Also, in attendance was Board of Governors Member Emerita Marie Conley.

DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION

(Full remarks in video archive)

Dr. Denise Pearson, Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer, provided a progress report on the State System's DEI Strategic priorities, the success of the recent DEI Summit that took place November 3-5, 2021, and the System-wide climate survey that is currently under way. The survey is being conducted by a third-party vendor to maintain confidentiality, and results will be reported later in April when the survey concludes.

BOARD CONSIDERATION

(Full remarks in video archive)

MOTION: CHAIR SHAPIRA MOVED THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS APPROVE THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE GOVERNANCE AND LEADERSHIP COMMITTEE, ITEMS 8a. and 8b:

- 1. Item 8a. Student trustee appointments at California University and Cheyney University.
- 2. Item 8b. Proposed Resolution Roles of Councils of Trustees at integrating universities.

Voice vote. No opposition. Motion passed.

CHANCELLOR'S REMARKS

(Full remarks in video archive)

Chancellor Dan Greenstein provided remarks on the tremendous work that lies ahead of the July 1 integrations, and thanked the leadership, faculty, and students for all their hard work to get to this point in the integration process. He also recognized the courage of the Board of Governors for their work in the integration planning, which has been nationally recognized by the Association of Governing Boards, and thus awarded the John W. Nason Award. This award recognizes higher education governing boards who have demonstrated innovation and exemplary leadership.

PRESENTATIONS AND DISCUSSION ITEMS

(Full remarks in video archive)

Numerous comments were made regarding the data that was presented in support of the continued work focusing on identifying more opportunities for student success, fund and academic alignment, and gap closure.

- Board-approved metrics updates provided by Dr. Kate Akers, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Advanced Data Analytics
- One-time funding investment update by Molly Mercer, Chief Financial Officer
- Allocation formula workgroup update by Indiana University President, Michael Driscoll and Molly Mercer
- University integrations progress report by President Pehrsson and President Hanna.

RESOLUTION

(Full remarks in video archive)

Chair Shapira recognized the success and accomplishments of former Student Board Member, Stephen Washington, who graduated December 2021.

Resolution accepted by acclamation.

Shippensburg University Interim President, Dr. Charles Patterson, remarked on Governor Washington's accomplishments not only as a Board member, but as a student leader on the university campus.

Governor Washington was present virtually and thanked the Board members for their support during his tenure as a student member of the Board.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

ATTEST:

Randy A. Goin, Ph.D. Deputy Chancellor

Meeting webcast is available here: <u>BOG Meeting 2-3-2022 - YouTube</u>