# Board of Governors Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education

# **Meeting Minutes**

293<sup>rd</sup> Meeting Thursday, July 21, 2022 9:00 a.m. PHEAA 1200 N. 7th Street, Harrisburg, PA 17102

#### **ATTENDING**

Robert W. Bogle
Representative Tim Briggs
William A. Gindlesperger
Tara Williams (for Gov. Wolf)
Senator Scott Martin
Kim McCurdy (Secretary Hagarty)
Representative Brad Roae

Senator Judith L. Schwank Cynthia D. Shapira (Chair) Larry C. Skinner (Vice Chair) Samuel H. Smith (Vice Chair) Skylar Walder Neil R. Weaver Janet L. Yeomans

Also in attendance was (non-voting) Board Faculty Liaison, Amanda Morris.

Chair Cindy Shapira called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Attendance taken at the direction of Chair Shapira established that a quorum of the Board was present.

#### **CHAIR'S REMARKS** (Full Remarks in video archive)

Chair Shapira welcomed new student Board member Abigail Hancox and new faculty liaison Dr. Amanda Morris, who each offered a few remarks of appreciation for their appointments. Chair Shapira extended thanks to the Governor, Legislators, and university and system leaders who worked hard to secure the historic level of funding for higher education, which will aid in the implementation of Phase 3 of System Redesign.

#### **PUBLIC COMMENT** (Full Remarks in video archive)

Nick Marcil provided public comment.

#### **REMARKS BY UNION LEADERS** (Full Remarks in video archive)

APSCUF President – Dr. Kenneth Mash

### **REMARKS BY PACT** (Full Remarks in video archive)

Dr. Rich Frerichs, PACT 1<sup>st</sup> Vice President, offered remarks on behalf of PACT President, Milissa Bauer.

#### **RECOGNITION** (Full Remarks in video archive)

Chair Shapira introduced Patricia Kunkle, VP of Membership Experience, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB). Ms. Kunkel offered remarks and presented the 2022 John W. Nason Award for Board Leadership to the Board of Governors of the Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

Chair Shapira moved that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented:

- Meeting Minutes April 14, 2022
- Meeting Minutes May 6, 2022
- Meeting Minutes June 15, 2022
- Revisions to Board of Governors Policies 1994-01-A and 2000-02-A
- Reappointment of student trustees at integrated universities
- Board of Governors Standing Committee Assignments

Voice Vote. No opposition. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **CHANCELLOR'S REMARKS** (Full remarks in video archive)

Chancellor Greenstein extended thanks to the Governor, Legislators, colleagues, and other university and system leaders who worked hard to secure the historic level of funding for higher education, which will aid in the implementation of Phase 3 of System redesign, instill confidence with higher education partners, and meet system priorities and goals. Chancellor Greenstein also provided an overview of the 2025 System Priorities and Goals with 2022-23 objectives.

#### **BOARD CONSIDERATION** (Full remarks in video archive)

Chair Shapira reviewed the action items for Board consideration today:

- Fiscal Year 2022-23 Educational & General Appropriation Allocation reviewed by Sharon Minnich, Executive Vice Chancellor, State System
- Allocation of Coronavirus State Fiscal Recovery Funds Informational reviewed by Sharon Minnich, Executive Vice Chancellor, State System
- Ratification of various union side letters APSCUF FACULTY, APSCUF COACHES OPEIU, POA, SPFPA, PDA and AFSCME, reviewed by Brian Mbuu, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Labor Relations, State System
- Election of Board of Governors officers, presented by Governor Jan Yeomans
- Resolution honoring service to the State System Andrew C. Lehman, former Chief Counsel for the State System

MOTION: CHAIR SHAPIRA MOVED THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS' APPROVE THE ALLOCATION OF FUNDS FROM THE SYSTEM'S FISCAL YEAR 2022-23 EDUCATIONAL AND GENERAL APPROPRIATION AS REFLECTED IN ATTACHMENT 1.

Voice Vote. No opposition. The motion passed.

MOTION: CHAIR SHAPIRA MOVED THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS' RATIFY THE TENTATIVE AGREEMENT SIDE LETTERS AND AUTHORIZE THE CHANCELLOR TO EXECUTE THE APPROPRIATE DOCUMENTS.

Voice Vote. No opposition. The motion passed.

# MOTION: GOVERNOR YEOMANS MOVED THAT THE OFFICERS FOR THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS FOR THE 2022—2023 YEAR BE AS FOLLOWS:

CHAIR: CYNTHIA SHAPIRA
 1<sup>ST</sup> VICE CHAIR: DAVID MASER
 2<sup>ND</sup> VICE CHAIR SAM SMITH

Hearing no other nominations for officers, a voice vote was conducted. The motion passed. No opposition.

## **RESOLUTION** (Full remarks in video archive)

Chair Shapira presented a resolution honoring the contributions and accomplishments of Andrew C. Lehman, former Chief Counsel for the State System, who moved into the role of Chief of Staff at the West Chester University of Pennsylvania. The resolution was approved by acclamation of the Board.

For the record, Chair Shapira noted that the Board met in executive session Wednesday, July 20, 2022 from 12:00 Noon – 1:00 p.m. to discuss legal and personnel matters.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

ATTEST:
Randy A. Goin, Ph.D. Deputy Chancellor

Meeting webcast is available here: BOG Meeting July 2022 - YouTube