​Welcome to the upcoming 2022/2023 school year. It is a very exciting time as students return to their universities in pursuit of their fields of study and their passion for a career. On behalf of the PACT Leadership, we encourage trustees to be engaged at both their universities and as a joint effort to promote common goals that benefit all universities through PACT. When speaking with single positive voice, we are a force for the PASSHE mission of “an affordable high-quality education.” 

At our PACT spring conference​ held in late March 2022, we issued to all trustees a “call to action” for the next 90 days to advocate for funding of the system in the upcoming Pennsylvania budget. I am pleased to report: Mission Accomplished--a $75 million increase in annual funding and a one-time investment of $125 million! Trustees joined the Board of Governors (BOG) and System leadership to advocate the General Assembly and Governor Wolf for historic investment for the purpose to “stabilize the system financially and grow its credentialing productivity." Trustees will want to make sure the money invested by the Commonwealth and our taxpayers is spent prudently. 

The PACT Executive Committee met on June 29, 2022 to update the bylaws in the wake of all the changes and uncertainty with the integrating universities. We felt it was critical to ensure a smooth transition between PACT and Commonwealth and PennWest Universities. It was unanimously approved that PACT will permit each of the historic 14 campuses to have a representative on PACT until June 30, 2024. The PACT representative will be an Initial Trustee, each from their historic campus and a COT member of the integrated university. (See updated bylaws.)

The next months will go fast. PACT must continue to be a force of good for our students, our universities and the Commonwealth. 

On behalf of the PACT Executive Committee, thank you for your continued support. 

Milissa Bauer, PACT President 
Rich Frerichs, PACT 1st Vice President 
Mike Ross, PACT 2nd Vice President