The Office of Legal Counsel provides representation to our 10 universities. The Office of Legal Counsel consists of the Office of Chief Counsel and the Offices of University Legal Counsel, which are both located at the Office of the Chancellor in Harrisburg. Most attorneys are assigned two universities as primary clients. In addition, the attorneys have developed areas of specialization, such as: intellectual property, student affairs, employment discrimination, real estate, institutional development, construction contracting, litigation and technology.
The State System also uses the services of several outside firms for support in more specialized areas such as labor relations, immigration, taxation, workers compensation, and civil rights litigation. In addition, as a commonwealth agency, the State System is formally represented by the Office of Attorney General in cases involving personal injury and employment discrimination as required by the Commonwealth Attorneys Act.